Public Holidays in Sydney

Public holiday dates 2023-2024

Holiday 2023 2024
New Year's Day Sunday 1 January (Additional day Monday, 2 January ) Monday 1 January
Australia Day Thursday 26 January Friday 26 January
Good Friday Friday 7 April Friday 29 March
Easter Saturday Saturday 8 April  Saturday 30 March 
Easter Sunday Sunday 9 April  Sunday 31 March 
Easter Monday  Monday 10 April  Monday 1 April 
Anzac Day  Tuesday 25 April  Thursday 25 April 
Queen's Birthday  Monday 12 June Monday 10 June
October Long Weekend (Labour Day) Monday 2 October Monday 7 October
Christmas Day public holiday Monday 25 December Wednesday 25 December
Boxing Day Tuesday 26 December Thursday 26 December

Sydney public holiday FAQs

Is everything closed on public holidays?

Is everything closed on public holidays?

Depending on which public holiday it is, most major stores, supermarkets and retailers will remain open. Often they will have reduced hours, therefore always double-check by contacting the venue, store or place you want to visit.

What time do things close/open generally?

What time do things close/open generally?

Places generally operate with reduced hours and will open later and close earlier. Make sure you contact or call ahead before visiting a venue, location or store. You can also check their website or social media for public holiday opening hours.

Which holidays are considered a public holiday?
What can you do on a public holiday?

What can you do on a public holiday?

Public Holidays in Sydney are full of celebrations, entertainment and excitement, here are some ideas on what you can do on a public holiday:
- Attend an event, there are always special events being held including festivals, concerts, markets, performances. Check out
upcoming events here.
- Go to the
beach or an ocean pool.
- Enjoy a
picnic in the park.
- Go for a walk or hike in one of Sydney's stunning
National Parks.
Explore more ideas of what you could do on a public holiday in Sydney.