Omega Ensemble: Mahler One

Tuesday 10 September 2019


Symphonic forces take a new form with this electrifying presentation of Mahler’s ‘Titanic’ work.

Mahler’s symphonies are recognised for their orchestral might, however the composer often draws on pure chamber music textures in his work to achieve his impressive sound. In this thrilling chamber arrangement by British composer Iain Farrington, the vast orchestral forces are harnessed by 15 soloists, revealing hidden details in the score and the power of Mahler’s gestures and intricacy. This performance is accompanied by a quintet presentation of Chopin’s luscious Piano Concerto No.1 and a World Premiere work by Australian composer Gordon Kerry.

Mahler - Symphony No. 1 “The Titan” (arr. Iain Farrington)
Chopin - Piano Concerto No. 1 in E Minor, Op. 11 (arr. for Piano and String Quintet)
Kerry - Clarinet Quintet [World Premiere]

Nearby Events