Omega Ensemble: American Masters

Tuesday 02 July 2019


Star-spangled masterworks with a world premiere from young-blood composer Nico Muhly.

American composers Philip Glass and Steve Reich changed the face of contemporary music with their revolutionary works built on simple harmony and hypnotic repetition. Where initial audiences were baffled, this music is now recognised for its textural richness and the expansion of classical forms. Schooled in this American tradition (including working as Glass’ assistant) composer Nico Muhly’s work ranges even more widely, incorporating stylistic fragments from Byrd to Webern, as well as his film work and collaborations with contemporary musicians such as Björk, Sufjan Stevens and Bryce Dessner. This program features a world premiere work by Muhly for Omega Ensemble, with a setting of a tenderly erotic poem by Constantine Cavafy.

Glass - Etudes for Solo Piano (Selections)
Glass - Sonata for Violin and Piano
Adams - Shaker Loops
Nico Muhly - By All Means
Nico Muhly - No Uncertain Terms
Nico Muhly - New Commission for Chamber Orchestra [World Premiere]*

Nearby Events