Queen Victoria Building

Das geschichtlich und architektonisch beeindruckende Queen Victoria Building (QVB) nimmt einen ganzen Häuserblock auf der George Street in Sydney ein. Es beherbergt mehr als 180 der exquisitesten Modeboutiquen, Juweliergeschäfte und Haushaltswarengeschäfte Sydneys, ergänzt durch einladende Cafés und Restaurants.

Das imposante Gebäude, das um 1890 herum erbaut wurde, diente zunächst als Markthalle von der Größe einer Kathedrale. 1986 wurde das QVB nach einer gelungenen Restaurierung wiedereröffnet und entwickelte sich schnell zum beliebtesten und exklusivsten Einkaufszentrum Sydneys.

Imposanter Mittelpunkt des Gebäudes ist die mächtige Kuppel in der Mitte, die in der Weihnachtszeit ein riesiger Weihnachtsbaum schmückt. Ein Muss für alle Touristen. Die wunderschönen Buntglasfenster und die herrliche Architektur sind im gesamten Gebäude zu bewundern. Direkt neben der Kuppel befindet sich ein Originaltreppenhaus aus dem 19. Jahrhundert.

Aufgrund der aktuellen Gesundheitsempfehlungen zur sozialen Distanzierung wenden Sie sich bitte an das Unternehmen, um die aktuellsten Informationen zu Öffnungszeiten und Dienstleistungen zu erhalten.

Weitere Informationen unter: http://www.qvb.com.au

Queen Victoria Building

Rich in history and architecturally splendid, the Queen Victoria Building (QVB) occupies an entire block on Sydney's George Street, and has over 180 of Sydney's finest fashion boutiques, jewellery shops and homewares, accompanied by delightful cafes and restaurants.

The grand building, built in the 1890s was erected as a Municipal Market on the scale of a Cathedral. The QVB was beautifully restored and re-opened in 1986, and quickly became Sydney's most popular and prestigious shopping centre.

The dominant feature is the mighty centre dome, which during the Christmas period is occupied by a giant Christmas tree, a must see for any visitor. Glorious stained glass windows and splendid architecture endure throughout the building and an original 19th century staircase sits alongside the dome.

For more information: http://www.qvb.com.au

Nearby events

  1. Brett Whiteley: Drawing is Everything

    Wednesday 20 February 2019 to Sunday 31 March 2019 , City Centre

    An extraordinary facility for drawing set Brett Whiteley on the path of a remarkable career as one of Australia’s best-known artists. Drawing lay at the very heart of everything he did – from painting to sculpture to prints – and was…

    20 Feb - 31 Mar
  2. Street Photography Exhibition

    Wednesday 20 February 2019 to Sunday 21 July 2019 , City Centre

    Discover the candid street photography prolific on Sydney’s streets from the 1930s to 1960s. During the mid-20th century, commercial street photographers were a familiar sight on Sydney’s streets. The photographers captured everyday…

    20 Feb - 21 Jul