Queen's Birthday - June Long Weekend

Queen's Birthday - June Long Weekend

The Queen’s Birthday long weekend is the perfect time to get out and explore Sydney. From 12-14 June, make the most of the crisp days and cool nights of winter with walks, picnics and whale watching, or soak up some culture in NSW’s cosmopolitan capital.

Itineraries

Use our curated itineraries to plan the perfect day or long weekend in Sydney.

Public holiday dates 2023-2024

Holiday 2023 2024
New Year's Day Sunday 1 January (Additional day Monday, 2 January ) Monday 1 January
Australia Day Thursday 26 January Friday 26 January
Good Friday Friday 7 April Friday 29 March
Easter Saturday Saturday 8 April  Saturday 30 March 
Easter Sunday Sunday 9 April  Sunday 31 March 
Easter Monday  Monday 10 April  Monday 1 April 
Anzac Day  Tuesday 25 April  Thursday 25 April 
Queen's Birthday  Monday 12 June Monday 10 June
October Long Weekend (Labour Day) Monday 2 October Monday 7 October
Christmas Day public holiday Monday 25 December Wednesday 25 December
Boxing Day Tuesday 26 December Thursday 26 December

Queen’s Birthday FAQs

Is the Queen's Birthday a public holiday in Sydney?

Is the Queen's Birthday a public holiday in Sydney?

Yes it is. The Queen's birthday is also referred to as the June Long Weekend.

What is open on the Queen's Birthday in Sydney?

What is open on the Queen's Birthday in Sydney?

Most shops, restaurants, bars, cafes, hospitality venues and essential services remain open on the Queen’s Birthday long weekend. Also, main attractions such as shopping centres, museums, galleries, and wildlife parks. Be sure to contact or call ahead before visiting a venue, location, or store.

What is there to do on the Queen’s Birthday weekend?