Queen's Birthday - June Long Weekend

The Queen’s Birthday long weekend is the perfect time to get out and explore Sydney. From 12-14 June, make the most of the crisp days and cool nights of winter with walks, picnics and whale watching, or soak up some culture in NSW’s cosmopolitan capital.

Public Holiday Dates 2021-2022 

Holiday 2021 2022
New Year's Day Friday, 1 January  Saturday, 1 January (Additional Day Monday, 3 January )
Australia Day Tuesday, 26 January Wednesday, 26 January
Good Friday Friday, 2 April Friday, 15 April
Holy Saturday Saturday, 3 April Saturday, 16 April
Easter Sunday Sunday, 4 April Sunday, 17 April
Easter Monday  Monday, 5 April Monday, 18 April
Anzac Day  Sunday, 25 April Monday, 25 April
Queen's Birthday  Monday, 14 June Monday, 13 June
October Long Weekend (Labour Day) Monday, 4 October Monday, 3 October
Christmas Day public holiday Saturday, 25 December (Additional Day Monday, 27 December) Sunday, 25 December (Additional Day Tuesday, 27 December)
Boxing Day Sunday, 26 December (Additional Day Tuesday, 28 December) Monday, 26 December

Queen’s Birthday FAQs

Is the Queen's Birthday a public holiday in Sydney?

Yes it is. The Queen's birthday is also referred to as the June Long Weekend.

What is open on the Queen's Birthday in Sydney?

Most shops, restaurants, bars, cafes, hospitality venues and essential services remain open on the Queen’s Birthday long weekend. Also, main attractions such as shopping centres, museums, galleries, wildlife parks. Be sure to contact or call ahead before visiting a venue, location or store.