Bulli in the 19th Century Coaching Era
Discover the horse and coaching era of Bulli at the The Bulli Black Diamond Museum and Heritage Centre. The centre houses a collection of railway and local coal mining artefacts, as well as physical and photographic exhibitions.
After the Sydney to Campbelltown railway was completed in 1858 there was increased traffic to Bulli, as a stopover for travellers and coaches leaving the train at Campbelltown on their way to Wollongong. Before that travellers were only able to travel on the mail cart from Campbelltown and descend the escarpment via the 1848 Rixon's Pass south west of Woonona.
In 1858 Larkin began a four horse coach service from Campbelltown to the Bulli District. Coaching inns appeared in the district to provide accommodation and liquor for the ever increasing number of people moving to Bulli seeking employment in the coal mines, as the major settlement before of the Bulli Mountain Road.